Welcome to the ASSW 2017!

The Arctic Science Summit Week (ASSW) is an annual meeting of national and international organizations focused on Arctic research and exploitation, which include academia, government agencies, local communities, industry, non-governmental organizations and others.

Thank you for considering participation at this conference.


Plenary Speakers

You may have more reasons to attend the Summit week when reading through the Plenary speakers’ biographies.

Invitation to the Summit

ASSW 2017 - 2nd Circlar


The conference is under following auspices:

Pontifical Council for Culture             Government of The Czech Republic            
Letter to the Czech Ambassador in Vatican
Message of the President of the Pontifical Council for Culture
Deputy Prime Minister Pavel Bělobrádek

Partner Organisations

Hans Joachim Schellnhuber

Tuesday 4 April 8:30 Zenit+Nadir

Field Theoretical Physics
Title Founder and Director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK)


Most important awards, prizes and academies
Schellnhuber is currently Co-Chair of the German Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU), Governing Board Chair of the Climate-KIC of the European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) and Chair of the Standing Committee on Climate, Energy and Environment of the German National Academy of Sciences (Leopoldina). He is an elected member of the Leopoldina, the Academia Europaea, the US National Academy of Sciences (NAS), the Max Planck Society and several other academies. He received, inter alia, the Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award (2002), the German Environment Prize (2007) and the Volvo Environment Prize (2011). Schellnhuber was awarded a CBE (Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire) by Queen Elizabeth II (2004), the Order of Merit of the State of Brandenburg (2008) and the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany (2011). He holds honorary doctorates from the University of Copenhagen (2011) and Technische Universität Berlin (2012). Schellnhuber was given honorary citizenship of his hometown Ortenburg and the Culture Prize of the district Passau (2014).
Summary of scientific research
Hans Joachim Schellnhuber founded the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK) in 1992 and has been its Director ever since. He holds a Chair in Theoretical Physics at Potsdam University and is an External Professor at the Santa Fe Institute (USA). From 2001-2005 he also served as Research Director of the Tyndall Centre in the UK and became a Visiting Professor at Oxford University thereafter. Schellnhuber has been a long-standing member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) which was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007. He served as Chief Government Advisor on climate and related issues during the German G8/EU twin presidency in 2007 and has served as a principal advisor to the European Commission President Barroso. He is a member of numerous national and international panels addressing scientific strategies and sustainability issues.

Main publications
Schellnhuber has authored, co-authored or edited more than 250 articles and more than 50 books in the fields of condensed matter physics, complex systems dynamics, climate change research, Earth System analysis, and sustainability science. Ostlund, S., Pandit, R., Rand, D., Schellnhuber, H.J. and Siggia, E.D. (1983). One-Dimensional Schrödinger Equation with an Almost Periodic Potential. Phys. Rev. Lett. 50, 1873; Kates, R.W. et al. (including Schellnhuber, H.J.) (2001). Sustainability Science. Science 292, 641; Koscielny-Bunde, E., Bunde, A., Havlin, S., Roman, H.E., Goldreich, Y. and Schellnhuber, H.J. (1998). Indication of a Universal Persistence Law Governing Atmospheric Variability. Phys. Rev. Lett. A 81, 729; Lenton, T., Held, H., Kriegler, E., Hall, J., Lucht, W., Rahmstorf, S. and Schellnhuber, H.J. (2008) Tipping elements in the Earth's climate system. PNAS 105, 1786; Schellnhuber, H.J. (Ed.) (2009).Tipping Elements in Earth System. Special Feature PNAS 106, 20561-20621; Rockström, J. et al. (including Schellnhuber, H.J.) (2009). Planetary Boundaries: Exploring the Safe Operating Space for Humanity. Ecology and Society 14, 32; Reid, W.V., Chen, D., Goldfarb, L., Hackmann, H., Lee, Y.T., Mokhele, K., Ostrom, E., Raivio, K., Rockström, J., Schellnhuber, H.J. and Whyte, A. (2010). Earth System Science for Global Sustainability: Grand Challenges. Science 330, 916; Messner, D., Schellnhuber, H.J. et al. (2010). The budget approach – A framework for a global transformation towards a low carbon economy. Journal of Renewable and Sustainable Energy 2, 031003.

Lecture: Earth System in Crisis

Terry V. Callaghan

Tuesday 4 April 9:30 Zenit+Nadir


IASC Medallist 2017: Professor Terry Callaghan
The IASC Medal is awarded in recognition of exceptional and sustained contributions to the understanding of the Arctic. This year, IASC recognizes Professor Terry Callaghan's outstanding contributions to international Arctic science collaboration.
Prof. Callaghan’s research and impressive publication record has focused on Arctic environmental and terrestrial ecosystem processes. However, it is his networking and ability to connect large project teams internationally that has really set him apart. Prof. Callaghan has led and contributed to numerous international scientific syntheses. Through his work in the former Institute of Terrestrial Ecology (part of NERC), by setting up a field base in Ny Ålesund, Svalbard, as the Director of the Royal Swedish Academy of Science’s Abisko Scientific Research Station, and coordinator of the INTERACT network, Prof. Callahan has been instrumental in bringing researchers from around the world to the Arctic. Many scientists realise the value of networking, but it takes a fiery spirit like Prof. Callaghan's to make it happen.
Prof. Callaghan will receive his medal and deliver an award lecture at Arctic Science Summit Week 2017 in Prague.

Summit secretariat: C-IN, 5. kvetna 65, 140 21 Prague 4, Czech Republic | tel.: +420 261 174 305
Home | Sitemap |
Copyright © 2015 | Powered and created by E-WORKS - web studio | XHTML 1.0 | CSS 2